Historical Museum of Tracadie

The Historical museum of Tracadie opened its doors in 1968, as the Hôtel-Dieu “mini-museum.” 

Incorporated in 1978, it gives, through the numerous objects shown, an excellent testimony of the history of our region.  Its originality comes from the fact that it’s the only museum in the country to commemorate the only leprosy hospital in eastern Canada from 1844 to 1965. 

Close to the hospital, visitors can visit a cemetery and stroll among the crosses where 59 of the deceased lepers are buried. 

The museum is located on the 2nd floor at the Académie Sainte-Famille.

399-222 Couvent Street
Tracadie-Sheila, NB

E-mail : museehis@nb.sympatico.ca


Link to the museum`s web site


See GOOGLE map

  See the photo album for this museum